What Are The Stages Of Pneumonia?


6 Answers

Joe McHugh Profile
Joe McHugh answered
There are four stages to pneumonia which an individual may go through after contracting the condition.
The first stage will involve the body actually accumulated bacteria. The infection will continue to grow as the number of bacteria increase. As a result, this will lead to the second stage of pneumonia which is also known as the red hepatisation stage. At this stage, the alveolar spaces in the lungs will start to become blocked with blood and this may even start appearing on the surface of the lungs. These air sacs or alveoli will start to become more and more inflamed as they become filled with fluid.
At the third stage, the red blood cells will begin to break up and this is also known as the gray hepatization stage. The last stage occurs when fluids in the lungs are broken down by enzymes and this may also include pus.
The body’s natural reaction to trying to clear these fluids from the lungs is through coughing as it becomes more difficult for the individual to breathe. As the lungs are becoming more filled, there is less space for oxygen to be absorbed into the body and this could lead to further complications as the body is unable to transport as much oxygen rich blood to its major organs.
For groups such as babies, young children, the elderly, smokers or those with a pre-existing lung condition or weakened immune system, hospital treatment may be necessary. For those with a milder form of pneumonia, it may be possible to treat the condition at home with a course of antibiotics.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Stages of pneumonia
I. Congestion – lobes are heavy, red and boggy;
histologically, vascular congestion can be seen with
proteinaceous fluid, scattered neutrophils and many
bacteria in the alveoli.
II. Red hepatization – alveolar spaces are packed with
neutrophils, red cells, and fibrin, pleura – fibrinous
or fibrinopurulent exudate.
III. Gray hepatization – lung is dry, gray and firm and
the fibrinous exudate persists within the alveoli.
IV. Resolution – exudates within the alveoli are
enzymatically digested.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Stage one;congestion
Stage two;Red hepatization
Stage Three;Gray hepatization
Stage four;Resolution
Cough , runny nose , high fever , sweating , uncontrollable coughing spells , bring up a lot of mucous, chest pain , shortness of breath , wheezing down in the bronchial tract.
Evelyn Vaz Profile
Evelyn Vaz answered
The four stages of pneumonia are congestion, red hepatization, gray hepatization and resolution. The congestion is a stage that comprises of numerous bacteria. It consists of vascular engorgement, intra-alveolar fluid, and small numbers of neutrophils.

The red hepatization is a vascular blockage persists, with extravasations of red cells into alveolar places, which could also include some numbers of neutrophils and fibrin. The more the airspaces are filled by the exudates it kind of leads to a sickening look of solidification, of the alveolar parenchyma. It is known as "hepatization", sine it looks has been likened to that of the liver. The third stage is the Gray hepatization stage. In this stage the red cells happen to break up, due to the pushiness of the neutrophils and fibrin. The fourth and final stage is the resolution stage. In this stage the enzymatic activity digests the exudates and is also completely cleared by some kind of cough mechanism.

Answer Question